Roots

photo of house with wild flowersLast week has been cold and dark again. But it’s the time of year the sun can’t be defeated totally, no matter how hard the dark tries! Stuff is growing, some better than others.

I managed to borrow a strimmer, which helped a lot because I’ve been doing the uncultivated bits by hand. The root crops are a bit deformed, I need deeper beds for them because the ground has been trampled by cattle for probably hundreds of years, so the roots don’t go straight down and make those classical shapes. Next year I’ll be able to make them deeper because there will be lots of compost.

The stuff I thought was celery, but tasted like grass has turned out to be parsnips, so that’s good. I don’t know if it’s too late, but I put some more seeds in trays, so far just some more celery, and two trays of basil and broccoli for sprouts. Also basil and coriander in big pots.

Started clearing the toxic corner a bit again. Still a lot to do. I was wondering why I was so obsessed with it, but a dream last night reminded me of the last traveller site I stayed at, only a couple of nights, which was next to a motorway and rubbish dump. As usual. Anyway I want the faries back, and the part I have done is responding with promise.

Some more photos.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment